Book Corner

I grumble every now and then when the Guardian has little or no space for children’s books. I know that all the other stuff they write about in the Review section is tremendously important. But then, so is children’s literature, and I happen to believe that the Guardian is the right newspaper to provide wide coverage of books for future adults. Even the book blog has gone downhill. As someone who knows about these things said to me, “it’s as dull as ditch water and I don’t read it anymore”.

BUT, the Family section has had a weekly corner from Lucy Mangan on classic children’s books for some time. I don’t always agree with Lucy. But this is fine. I’m get a reminder of old books, and I’m learning about ones I’ve never read. And she is funny. I do like her comment on Little Women, about how there is a member of the March family for everyone; “Those who like dying, of course, can take Beth. And are welcome to her.”

Quite.

8 responses to “Book Corner

  1. As little coverage as the Guardian gives to children’s lit – at least there is something on a weekly basis.

    None of the Irish press or broadcasters any regular children’s features.

    sobs.

  2. Pingback: David Maybury | Blog » New and reviewed | The best of 2008

  3. That will be the powers of the witch, I expect. Family in the Guardian has a whole page on book-y subjects today. But I still object to them not being allowed in the literary section.

  4. Erm, there’s a review by me of The Magic Thief in the Review section. And a short story by Rhiannon in the Comic.

    Doing our best, folks.

  5. Yes, I enjoyed your review, Mary. But don’t you feel there could be more? And there are weeks when I look and look and there is nothing at all.

  6. Of course there could – and should – be more but the Literary Editor and Children’s books editor are both fighting for more space. It is unusual for there not to be one at all except in August, but al that lovely illustration space seems to have gone.

    Write to the editor of the Saturday Review and complain.

  7. Is that Claire Armitstead?

    I may be simple and a fool, but I feel that the Review could afford a full page of children’s books related things. I realise they’re not getting that, but what proportion of the population is under 17?

    It could be argued that few young people read the paper, but I started reading newspapers by reading the comics, before moving on to “interesting accidents”, before getting more serious with news and politics and culture.

  8. No, it’s Kath Viner, who is the editor of Saturday review. Claire is Literary editor and very pro-children’s books.

    “Affording” is all about advertising revenue, nothing else.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.