Chairing it

When in Gothenburg in 2005, at our first event ever, we were both quite pleased that Son got a question in, quite early. I think it was to Toby Litt, and the young questioner obviously had the advantage of language. Didn’t necessarily have to be a good question, although I’m sure it was excellent.

Cough.

At the latest London Book Fair a couple of weeks ago, he finally got to sit in the chair’s chair. It was still down to language. The translators have their own stuff, and there was some last minute shuffling of who did what to whom.

And I didn’t even know until this photo appeared on social media. As always, the names on the sign behind them don’t match who’s sitting there, but I believe that they are Michele Hutchison, Paul Russell Garrett and Rosalind Harvey. I am reasonably certain that the one on the left is Ian Giles. He’s always been good at talking. I shall assume that here it was good talking.

(Photo by Lauren Fletcher-Harris)

2 responses to “Chairing it

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.