The Boy, The Witch & The Queen of Scots

How could I resist? A witch, and Stirling. Barbara Henderson’s new book was clearly meant for me. And it is as with her other historical novels; I learned so much. It’s almost like going to school, except a lot more fun.

It’s 1561. Alexander is a trainee falconer and new to Edinburgh, when he just happens to be in Leith when Mary Queen of Scots arrives from France. The Earl of Huntly, for whom he used to work, has instructed him to spy on the Queen. He desperately wants to avoid this, but how?

Based on real events, in a way this is similar to some of the other Mary Queen of Scots books I have come across. This is good, because that way you learn by repetition, and then you can concentrate on what is special about this story.

The birds, and the need to spy on his Queen. Alexander’s friendship with Lizzie who is the Queen’s seamstress.

Mary travels a lot, now that she has arrived in Scotland, and there are many opportunities for bad things to happen. She has long struck me as an interesting young woman, and this was a great way of meeting up with Mary again.

I almost wish I was twelve, coming fresh to fun history. But being old is almost as good.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.