A Boy and a Bear in a Boat

What a lie! Somewhere in the press release for A Boy and a Bear in a Boat (phew, from now on this will go under the name of BBB) someone tries to make out Dave Shelton is a first timer. So why did I recognise his name? And why did my blog software recognise his name? Because we have reviewed Dave before. That’s why. Admittedly for a comic, but comics are books, too.

First timerness apart, BBB is a very lovely little book, complete with teastains and worn edges. I hardly had to add a thing myself, although I did try some sandwich at one point. This little blue book is covered with a map of the sea. It’s blue.

Dave Shelton, A Boy and a Bear in a Boat

So is the wide wide sea on which Boy and Bear find themselves, in the Boat. And that’s pretty much it, folks. BBB.

It’s lovely, and it’s funny, and very sweet. It’s also pretty weird, but I’d expect that from Dave.

I’m not at all sure what it’s about. Love, probably. Courage. Tenacity. Hope.

It’s impossible to describe, without giving too much away. I liked it. And I’d love to put copies of BBB into the hands of lots of little boys. I don’t know why, but it feels like the kind of thing one ought to do.

2 responses to “A Boy and a Bear in a Boat

  1. Your review is wonderfully intriguing and since I have two smallish boys in my life, I feel I’d better do the altruistic thing, follow your advice and get hold of this book 🙂

    And I love your previous post about the piano tuner!

  2. Yes, I’m afraid you do, Marjorie. If quite small, excellent to read aloud, and for slightly bigger/older to read alone. There are some good words to learn, without it seeming like a school lesson.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.