Badgerings

I complain a lot. I know. But below is a perfect example of a contact email, offering me a book to read. I have taken the liberty of copying it here, shortening it very slightly. Even had I not been somewhat Badger-book deprived I’d have wanted a little look.

Badger the Mystical Mutt, a new illustrated children’s book for 5 – 9 year olds published by The Lunicorn Press. It’s now in its 2nd run of 1000 copies. We’ve been touring Waterstones in Scotland, visiting libraries, schools, Hamleys and we’re taking part in Aye Write, Glasgow’s Book Festival. We’ve decided to remain independent rather than seek a mainstream publisher because we want to be totally hands-on.

We also have a 6ft Badger Mutt character who accompanies us to all readings. Book two in the series will be out in May of this year. Feedback has been great, as has press coverage. There are lots of layers to Badger, there’s a bit of reiki, lots of healing, and the first book subtly addresses bullying. One reviewer said it was the message without the lecture, and kids seem to find it funny too, especially his strange travelling contraption – the wim-wim for the wowser.

He’s a big numptie, but a lovable one, and we hope he makes you smile. With badgical magical wishes, Lyn, Laura & Badger.’

Badger

It’s not every book character that bothers to sign emails, either. Although, funnily enough I encountered another badger (by name) mere days before I read Badger the Mystical Mutt.

OK, I didn’t totally get the wim-wim wowser thing, but I did enjoy the story. Badger, who I believe to be a dog and no badger, is a crazy but sweet dog, always looking out for others. He’s got a magical scarf which can sort almost anything out.

In this first book the subject is bullying. Or lonely dogs, if you prefer. Badger makes sure things improve, both for the bullied dog and for the bully. It’s funny, and it’s sweet.

Dogs can’t really do magic, though. Obviously… Or can they?

5 responses to “Badgerings

  1. This is an excellent query.

    Although I read the title of this post right–badger-ings, it occurred to me that it might actually be badge rings.

    Not that I knew what those were. But I was open to the idea.

  2. Bookwitch – Badger says wooftastic!!! (And of course he does magic…eventually!)

  3. Badge rings. Magic, they are. And a little stripey.

  4. Pingback: Foggy fogs and fezes | Bookwitch

  5. Pingback: Badger the magician | Bookwitch

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.